Image

Honorary Award

Fredi M. Murer – magician and key figure in Swiss cinema

Every few years, when critics vote on which is the best Swiss film of all time, “Höhenfeuer” dominates these polls with unrivalled regularity. This film is a national cinematic classic, a seemingly ageless work with the dimensions of a Greek tragedy.

Fredi M. Murer is a key figure in Swiss cinema, a filmmaker and craftsman from analogue times and, as a feature-film documentarian and documentary-feature filmmaker, an ethnologist in his own country. The mysticism and magic of the alpine world have left their mark on him. He is not only able to create narrative magic with his films, but also enchant international audiences, as was indeed the case on the Piazza Grande in Locarno when he received the “Pardo alla carriera” for his oeuvre in summer 2019.

Having grown up in a family of eight in Nidwalden and Altdorf (Uri) and completing his studies at the Zurich School of Design, Murer started out experimentally with the ambition of reinventing the art of film. The spirit of optimism in a still small industry full of self-taught filmmakers at that time had a profound influence on him. When asked about his beginnings at the age of 22, he says that he was a “fortunate dilettante”. There followed numerous films and documentaries. At the age of 75, he declared his life’s work complete. Since then, he has kept his films and the many sketchbooks and drawings, his second passion, alive in his tower studio in Zurich.

Fredi M. Murer was never at a loss for critical statements, especially about film policies. He believes that too much emphasis is placed on script conventions these days, instead of trusting experienced directors. That is why he no longer wants to make films. For years he was president of the Association of Film Creators and later the first president of the Swiss Film Academy.

Image

Ehrenpreisträger

Fredi M. Murer – Zauberer und Schlüsselfigur des Schweizer Films

Wenn KritikerInnen alle paar Jahre darüber abstimmen, welches der beste Schweizer Film aller Zeiten sei, dann dominiert «Höhenfeuer» diese Umfragen mit schöner Regelmässigkeit. Dieser Film sei ein nationales Kinoereignis, ein Werk mit der Dimension einer griechischen Tragödie, das nicht zu altern scheint.

Fredi M. Murer ist eine Schlüsselfigur des Schweizer Films, ein Filmemacher und Handwerker aus analoger Zeit und als spielfilmender Dokumentarist und dokumentierender Spielfilmer ein Ethnologe im eigenen Land. Die Bergwelt und deren Mystik und Magie haben ihn geprägt. Er kann nicht nur mit seinen Filmen erzählend zaubern. Er verzaubert auch das internationale Publikum und die Piazza Grande in Locarno, als er im Sommer 2019 den «Pardo alla Carriera» für sein Lebenswerk entgegennehmen darf.

Aufgewachsen in einer achtköpfigen Familie in Nidwalden und im urnerischen Altdorf, startet Murer nach einer Ausbildung an der Kunstgewerbeschule in Zürich experimentell und mit dem Anspruch, die Filmkunst neu zu erfinden. Die Aufbruchstimmung in einer noch übersichtlichen Branche voller Autodidakten hat ihn geprägt. Über seine Anfänge im Alter von 22 Jahren sagt er, er sei ein «glücklicher Dilettant» gewesen. Danach folgten zahlreiche Spielfilme und Dokumentarfilme. Mit 75 Jahren erklärt er sein Lebenswerk für abgeschlossen. Seither archiviert er in seinem Zürcher Turmatelier quicklebendig seine Filme und die vielen Skizzenbücher und Zeichnungen, seine zweite Leidenschaft.

Fredi M. Murer war nie verlegen um kritische Aussagen, gerade auch zur Filmpolitik. Heute werde zu sehr auf Drehbuchkonventionen gesetzt, statt dass erfahrenen Regisseuren Vertrauen geschenkt werde. Deshalb wolle er keine Filme mehr drehen. Jahrelang war er Präsident des Filmgestalterverbands und später erster Präsident der Schweizer Filmakademie.